On Now
Coming Up
  • There are no Events to display in this category.



Beason becomes fourth Panthers Pro Bowler

Posted Jan 29, 2010

Jon Beason, shown here at Miami this past August, will get to play in his college town once again in the Pro Bowl on Sunday night. (PHOTO: ANDREW MASON / PANTHERS.COM)

CHARLOTTE -- Friday afternoon, linebacker Jon Beason became the team's fourth Pro Bowler when he was added to the NFC roster after 49ers linebacker Patrick Willis pulled out with a knee injury.

With over 30 players withdrawing from Sunday's Pro Bowl because of injuries or their participation in Super Bowl XLIV, the Panthers' complement of All-Stars has doubled this week.

Beason joins center Ryan Kalil, defensive end Julius Peppers and running back DeAngelo Williams in the game. Kalil was added to the roster when Jonathan Goodwin's Saints made it to the Super Bowl; Peppers and Williams were selected for the Pro Bowl in December.

There was a legitimate argument for Beason to have been included all along. He finished the season with a Panthers-record 169 total tackles, surpassing the standard he set as a rookie in 2007. His tackle tallies the last three years are the three best single-season figures in franchise annals.

Making Beason's play all the more impressive was his ability to remain a vital playmaker in spite of injuries around him, particuarly the season-ending absences of tackle Maake Kemoeatu and weakside linebacker Thomas Davis, who missed a combined 24 games with a torn Achilles and ruptured anterior cruciate ligament, respectively.

Beason matches Kevin Greene for the franchise record for Pro Bowl appearances by a linebacker and is one of seven Panthers linebackers to make the all-star game.

The Panthers have now had at least four Pro Bowlers in six of the last seven seasons.

2010 LB Jon Beason, C Ryan Kalil, DE Julius Peppers, RB DeAngelo Williams
2009 LB Jon Beason, OT Jordan Gross, DE Julius Peppers, WR Steve Smith
2008 None
2007 DT Kris Jenkins, DE Julius Peppers, WR Steve Smith
2006 QB Jake Delhomme, DE Julius Peppers, WR Steve Smith, G Mike Wahle
2005 LB Mark Fields, LB Dan Morgan, WR Muhsin Muhammad, DE Julius Peppers
2004 RB Stephen Davis, DT Kris Jenkins, DE Mike Rucker, P Todd Sauerbrun
2003 DT Kris Jenkins, P Todd Sauerbrun
2002 P Todd Sauerbrun, KR Steve Smith
2001 ST Michael Bates
2000 ST Michael Bates, QB Steve Beuerlein, WR Muhsin Muhammad, TE Wesley Walls
1999 ST Michael Bates, LB Kevin Greene, TE Wesley Walls
1998 KR Michael Bates, TE Wesley Walls
1997 KR Michael Bates, QB Kerry Collins, CB Eric Davis, LB Kevin Greene, K John Kasay, LB Lamar Lathon, LB Sam Mills, TE Wesley Walls
1995 None

* Note: Year indicates when the Pro Bowl was played; the corresponding season would be one year earlier.