Skip to main content
Carolina Panthers

Panthers name 2019 team captains


CHARLOTTE -- The Panthers have named their team captains for the season, and someone will wear the "C" for the first time.

Defensive tackle Kawann Short will be a first-time captain in 2019, his seventh season since coming to Carolina as a second-round pick in 2013.

Teams are allowed to designate six captains, and the Panthers will rotate the sixth spot throughout the year.

Colin Jones is representing special teams as captain for the second straight season. Below is the full list and their total years served as captain in Carolina.

  • QB Cam Newton: 7th year as captain
  • LB Luke Kuechly: 7th year as captain
  • TE Greg Olsen: 6th year as captain
  • S Colin Jones: 2nd year as captain
  • DT Kawann Short: 1st year as captain