Skip to main content

Panthers announce 2020 team captains

2020 Captains

CHARLOTTE — The Panthers have named their 2020 captains: quarterback Teddy Bridgewater, running back Christian McCaffrey, left tackle Russell Okung, defensive tackle Kawann Short and linebackers Shaq Thompson and Tahir Whitehead.

Short is a Panthers' captain for the second time, having earned the honor last year before he was sidelined with a shoulder injury.

McCaffrey did not start 2019 as a captain, but was given the distinction beginning in Week 5 against Jacksonville.

This is the first time Thompson will be a captain.

The three other Panthers' captains have previously held the honor elsewhere:

Bridgewater with the Vikings in 2015 during his second season in the league, Okung with the Chargers in 2018 during second season with the franchise, and Whitehead with the Raiders last year.

View the best training camp photos of the 2020 Captains, Teddy Bridgewater, Christian McCaffrey, Russell Okung, Kawann Short, Shaq Thompson and Tahir Whitehead.

Related Content