Skip to main content

Luke Kuechly Wins Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Linebacker Luke Kuechly has won the 2017 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award, which was presented to him at the NFL Honors show ahead of Super Bowl LII.

Each team nominated one of its players for the award, which recognizes those who best demonstrate the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition. The award was created in 2014 in honor of the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer Art Rooney, Sr.

A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community selected the eight finalists from the 32 nominees. The panel is comprised of Warrick Dunn, Curtis Martin, Karl Mecklenburg and Leonard Wheeler.

The winner of the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award is determined by a vote of current NFL players. Past recipients of the award are Frank Gore of the Indianapolis Colts (2016), Charles Woodson of the Oakland Raiders (2015) and Larry Fitzgerald of the Arizona Cardinals (2014).

As winner, Kuechly received a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice. He also received a trophy that represents the important role that sportsmanship plays in the game and how NFL players that demonstrate integrity and honor on the field serve as role models for players at all levels.


AP/Jeff Lewis

Related Content