Skip to main content
Carolina Panthers

NFL votes to expand postseason in 2020 season


NFL clubs voted today to expand the postseason by two teams beginning with the 2020 season.

Expanding the NFL postseason was addressed in the new NFL-NFLPA Collective Bargaining Agreement ratified earlier this month. Today's vote during a league meeting held remotely follows the recommendation of the Competition Committee.

The vote increases the number of playoff teams from 12 to 14. Two additional Wild Card teams –one each in the American and National Football Conferences – will qualify for the playoffs. The No. 1 seed in each conference will receive a bye in the Wild Card round. The remaining division champions in each conference with the best records will be seeded Nos. 2, 3, and 4, followed by the next three teams per conference with the best records seeded Nos. 5, 6, and 7. 

AFC and NFC Wild Card games will feature the 2 seed hosting the 7 seed, the 3 seed hosting the 6 seed and the 4 seed hosting the 5 seed. Wild Card Weekend for the 2020 season will consist of three games on Saturday, January 9, and three games on Sunday, January 10, 2021. ​

​The NFL last expanded the playoffs for the 1990 season, increasing from 10 to 12 the number of teams to qualify for the postseason.