Teddy Bridgewater a nominee for the 2020 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Teddy Bridgewater Sportsmanship Award Nominee

CHARLOTTE - Quarterback Teddy Bridgewater on Thursday was named one of 32 nominees for the 2020 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award.

Each NFL team selected a nominee for the 7th annual award, which recognizes players who best demonstrate the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.

Christian McCaffrey was Carolina's nominee in 2019, while former linebacker Luke Kuechly won the award in 2017.

Bridgewater currently ranks third in the NFL with a completion percentage of 70.2 with 2,819 passing yards and 14 touchdowns.

A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community – Warrick Dunn, Pro Football Hall of Famer Curtis Martin, Karl Mecklenburg and Leonard Wheeler – will select eight finalists (four in the AFC and four in the NFC) from the 32 nominees. The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players vote on Friday, December 18.

The winner is determined by a vote of current NFL players and will be announced as part of NFL Honors. He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice.

Related Content